Tuesday, September 6, 2011


Juventus Football Club (BIT: JUVE) (from Latin iuventus: youth, pronounced), commonly referred to as Juventus and colloquially as Juve (pronounced ),are a professional Italian association football club based in Turin, Piedmont. The club is the third oldest of its kind in the country and has spent its entire history, with the exception of the 2006–07 season, in the top flight First Division (known as Serie A since 1929).

Founded in 1897 as Sport Club Juventus by a group of young Torinese students, among them, who was its first president, Eugenio Canfari, and his brother Enrico, author of the company's historical memory; the club established as the first to be managed professionally in Italy from its association with the industrial Agnelli family in 1923, constituting the first sporting partnership in the country. Over time, Juventus has become a symbol of Italian culture and italianità (Italianity), to its successful tradition of success, the ideological politics and socio-economic origin of the club's sympathisers their massive presence all over the country and abroad, mainly in countries with a significant presence of Italian immigrants. This is reflected, among other things, in the club's contribution to the national team, uninterrupted since the second half of 1920s and recognised as one of the most influential in international football. Juventus' fan base is larger than any other Italian club and is one of the largest world-wide.
Juventus are historically the most successful club in Italian football and one of the most successful and recognised in the world. They have won overall fifty-one official titles at the national and international stage, more than any other Italian club: a record twenty-seven league titles, a record nine Italian cups and four national super cups and, with eleven titles in international confederation and inter-confederation competitions (two Intercontinental Cups, two European Champion Clubs' Cup/UEFA Champions Leagues, one UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, three UEFA Cups, one UEFA Intertoto Cup and two UEFA Super Cups), the club currently ranks fourth in Europe and seventh in the world with the most international titles won officially recognised by FIFA and their respective confederation. In 1985, under the management of Giovanni Trapattoni, who led the team to thirteen official trophies in ten years until 1986, including six league titles and five international competitions; Juventus became the first club in the history of European football to have won all three major UEFA
competitions: the European Champion Clubs' Cup, the (now-defunct) UEFA Cup Winners' Cup and the UEFA Cup (the first Italian and Southern European side to win the competition). After their triumph in the Intercontinental Cup the same year, Juventus also became the first football team ever—and remain the only one at present—to have won all possible confederation competitions and the club world title. According to the all-time ranking published in 2009 by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics, an organization recognised by FIFA, based on clubs' performance in international competitions, Juventus were Italy's best club and the second most successful European club of the 20th century.
Juventus were founded as Sport Club Juventus in late 1897 by pupils from the Massimo D'Azeglio Lyceum school in Turin,but were renamed as Foot-Ball Club Juventus two years later.The club joined the Italian Football Championship during 1900. During this period the team wore a pink and black kit. Juventus first won the league championship in 1905 while playing at their Velodromo Umberto I ground. By this time the club colours had changed to black and white stripes, inspired by English side Notts County.

There was a split at the club in 1906, after some of the staff considered moving Juve out of Turin.President Alfredo Dick was unhappy with this and left with some prominent players to found FBC Torino which in turn spawned the Derby della Mole. Juventus spent much of this period steadily rebuilding after the split, surviving the First World War.
Fiat owner Edoardo Agnelli gained control of the club in 1923, and built a new stadium This helped the club to its second scudetto (league championship) in the 1925–26 season beating Alba Roma with an aggregate score of 12–1, Antonio Vojak's goals were essential that season. The club established itself as a major force in Italian football since the 1930s, becoming the country's first professional club and the first with a decentralised fan base, led it to win a record of five consecutive Italian championships—the first four under the management of Carlo Carcano—and form the core of the of the Italy national team during the Vittorio Pozzo's era, including the 1934 world champion squad. with star players such as Raimundo Orsi, Luigi Bertolini, Giovanni Ferrari and Luis Monti amongst others.
After the Second World War, Gianni Agnelli was appointed honorary president.The club added two more league championships to its name in the 1949–50 and 1951–52 seasons, the latter of which was under the management of Englishman Jesse Carver.

Two new strikers were signed during 1957–58; Welshman John Charles and Italo-Argentine Omar Sivori, playing alongside longtime member Giampiero Boniperti. That season saw Juventus awarded with the Golden Star for Sport Excellence to wear on their shirts after becoming the first Italian side to win ten league titles. In the same season, Omar Sivori became the first ever player at the club to win the European Footballer of the Year. following season they beat Fiorentina to complete their first league and cup double, winning Serie A and Coppa Italia. Boniperti retired in 1961 as the all-time top scorer at the club, with 182 goals in all competitions, a club record which stood for 45 years.
During the rest of the decade the club won the league just once more in 1966–67, However, the 1970s saw Juventus further solidify their strong position in Italian football. Under former player Čestmír Vycpálek they won the scudetto in 1971–72 and 1972–73,with players such as Roberto Bettega, Franco Causio and José Altafini breaking through. During the rest of the decade they won the league twice more, with defender Gaetano Scirea contributing significantly. The later win was under Giovanni Trapattoni, who helped the club's domination continue on into the early part of the 1980s and to form the backbone of the Italian national team during Enzo Bearzot's era, including the 1978 FIFA World Cup and 1982 world champion squads.